On wallflower-ism

Not half an hour ago, I finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It’s taken me just under two days. I would’ve been quicker, but a) life interfered and b) it was on my phone in PDF format, and I don’t have my phone 24/7. If you’ve never read it, you need to. It’s incredible. Beg, borrow, or steal a copy and don’t do anything until you’ve finished it. Especially not read this blog post.

I’m sitting typing up this post listening to the Film of the Book’s soundtrack. And I’m wondering why I loved it so much.

I think we all have a bit of Charlie in us. Some more than others.

Me, I’m a wallflower. If I disappeared, no one would notice. And I can relate to Charlie. A lot. But that doesn’t explain why so many other people loved the book.

Charlie gives us wallflowers hope. Hope that we can actually be noticed. Make a difference. Be loved. Because if people love Charlie, surely they can love us.

Leave a Reply

